The doctorate "Honoris Causa" is a distinction that the University awards to a personality who has made a mark in a particular field and who has, in general, special ties with the University.

Below you will find the names of those who have received the insignia of Doctor Honoris Causa on the recommendation of the Faculty of Medicine, year by year.

2020 : Karl Friston

Professor at the Institute of Neurology at University College London, and one of the originators of modern neuroimaging, Karl Friston studied medicine at Cambridge University, along with physics. He then trained as a psychiatrist at Oxford University and King's College Medical School in London.

Read more


2019 : William Catterall

Professor W. Catterall is Chairman of the Department of Pharmacology at the University of Washington in Seattle, USA. He is a Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States, where he chairs the Physiology and Pharmacology Section.



2018 : John Elefteriades

Dr. Elefteriades holds the William W.L. Glenn Chair in Cardiothoracic Surgery. He served as Director of Cardiothoracic Surgery at Yale University and Yale-New Haven Hospital for fifteen years, until he became the founding director of the Aortic Institute at Yale-New Haven Hospital in 2011.



2017 : Philippe PIBAROT

Philippe PIBAROT is a Full Professor in the Department of Medicine at LAVAL University in Quebec City and Director of the Canada Research Chair in Cardiac Valvular Diseases.

Philippe PIBAROT's scientific activity has a major impact on the management of heart valve diseases, and in particular the most prevalent one, aortic stenosis.



2016 : Charis ENG

Charis ENG is an internationally renowned scientist, physician and teacher. She grew up in Singapore and the United Kingdom (Bristol). She completed her medical studies at the University of Chicago, where she also did her PhD. She specialized in internal medicine, particularly medical oncology and clinical genetics, at Beth Israel Hospital, the Dana-Farber Institute of Harvard University and the University of Cambridge. In 2005, she was hired by the Cleveland Clinic where she founded and directed theGenomic Medicine Institute.



2015 : Professeur Niels E. Skakkebaek

Niels Skakkebaek graduated as a medical doctor from the University of Copenhagen in 1965 and was proclaimed Doctor of Medical Sciences in 1974. In 1972, he published the observation of abnormal germ cells in the testicles of infertile men and put forward the hypothesis of early alterations in situ. It took about 15 years for the scientific community to recognize the reality of this hypothesis. From 1982 to 1990, as Professor of Pediatrics, he was attached to the Fuglebakken Children's Hospital and the Hvidovre Hospital. In 1990 he founded the Department of Growth and Reproduction at the University Hospital of Copenhagen (Rigshospitalet) and was its director until 2006. This department has aworldwidereputation.
It combines clinical and research activities at the highest level in a multidisciplinary approach to the effects of the environment on testicular development and fertility. For the past 25 years, Niels Skakkebaek has been conducting research on the effects of endocrinedisruptors on human health, particularly male reproduction.


2014 : Professeur Jean-François Arnal

Professor Jean-François ARNAL is a Doctor of Medicine, graduated from the Paris Hospitals in 1990. He is successively intern of the Paris Hospitals, specialist in Cardiology, Associate Professor and currently Professor of Vascular Physiology at the Paul Sabatier University of Toulouse, where he directs an INSERM team. In 1993-94, he completed a long-term postdoctoral fellowship at Emory-Atlanta University, GA, USA (Pr. W. Alexander), under the supervision of Pr. D. G. HARRISON.



2013 : Professeur Constantine A. Stratakis

Dr. Constantine A. STRATAKIS is a pediatrician, geneticist and endocrinologist. He has cleverly combined these 3 specialties with basic sciences to elucidate the genetic origins of endocrine neoplasia.



2012 : Professeur Eliane Gluckman & Professeur Irving Wainer

Mrs. Eliane Gluckman received her medical degree from the University of Paris IV in 1969. Under the supervision of Jean BERNARD and Nobel Laureate Jean DAUSSET, she specialized in hematology and immunology at Hôpital Saint Louis.


After graduating with honors in organic chemistry from Wayne State University in Detroit in 1965, Irving W. Wainer completed his doctoral dissertation in organic chemistry at Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y., in 1970.

In 2001, he joined the National Institute on Aging (NIA) in Baltimore as Director of the new Bioanalytical Chemistry and Drug Discovery Section of the Laboratory of Clinical Investigation.


Share this page