Each academic year, prizes and distinctions are awarded to researchers for their scientific research.

In 2017


(Head of the Department of Endocrinology)

After receiving the prestigious Geoffrey Harris Prize, awarded annually by the European Society of Endocrinology, in Munich in 2016, Professor Albert BECKERS will receive the Rolf Gaillard Prize in St Petersburg this year. This prize is awarded annually by the European Society of Neuro-Endocrinology. These prizes were awarded to Professor Albert Beckers in recognition of his work.


In 2016

Mr Andrei TURTOI

(Qualified Researcher - Giga - Metastasis Research Laboratory)

Award for excellence in neoplasia research

This prize is designed to encourage young researchers to attend the Annual Meeting and present outstanding data from experimental studies on neoplasia.



Mrs Delphine FRANSSEN

(Researcher at the Neuroendocrinology Laboratory of the GIGA Neurosciences at the University of Liège)

2nd prize at the European Researchers' Night at the European Parliament for her presentation "When the environment controls puberty".


In 2015



Mr Laurent NGUYEN

(Welbio researcher at GIGA Neurosciences, University of Liège)

2015 winner of the Simone and Pierre Clerdent Foundation's three-year prize,

this prize consists of a research grant to support a medical research project in the field of human neurological diseases for three years.


Professor Jean-Yves REGINSTER

(Director of the Bone and Cartilage Metabolism Research Unit)


Winner of the 2015 ESCEO-IOF-Servier Pierre Delmas Award,

this award recognizes the work of a leading figure in the field of bone metabolism.




In 2014


Mr Michaël HERFS

(Post-doc researcher)

Awarded by the Jean GOL Foundation for his post-doctoral research in the biomedical field.


Professor Eric SALMON

(Head of the Memory Clinic at Liège University Hospital)

Winner of the de Beys prize from the King Baudouin Foundation for his:

"innovative approach to Alzheimer's disease and cognitive disorders"





Professor Vincent GEENEN

(Faculty of Medicine / Center for Immunology
Department of Biomedical and Preclinical Sciences / Embryology)

Winner of the Prix Littéraire Prince Alexandre de Belgique 2014 for his book:

"Voyages à travers le Thymus"

to be printed and distributed in 2015 by the Belgian publishing house "Avant-Propos".


Professor Pierre MAQUET

(Head of the Neurology Department at CHU)

Winner of the 2014 Janine and Jacques Delruelle Prize,
scientific prize of the Queen Elisabeth Medical Foundation.




Professor Edouard LOUIS

(Head of the Hepato-Gastroenterology and Digestive Oncology Department at CHU)

Winner of the 2014Inbev-Baillet Latour Prize for his clinical research.


Doctors Brigitte MALGRANGE and Laurent NGUYEN


2014 winners of the Solvay Prize for neuroscience research.




Fondatiopn     2014 Grants winners


Professor Agnès NOËL

(Department of Biomedical and Preclinical Sciences / Cellular and Molecular Biology Applied to Humans)

Fundamental Research

"Interfering with tumor metabolism to overcome adaptation to molecular targeted therapies"




Professor Didier CATALDO

(Department of Biomedical and Preclinical Sciences / General, Human and Pathological Biochemistry and Physiology)

Asbestos Fundamental Research

"Mechanisms of resistance to therapy in mesothelioma


Professor Yves BEGUIN

(GIGA-R: Hématologie)

Translational & Clinical Research

"Improving MSC immunosuppressive therapy for acute GVHD after hematopoietic cell transplantation"




Professor Frédéric KRIDELKA

(Department of Clinical Sciences / Gynecology-Obstetrics)

Translational & Clinical Research

"Searching for new prognostic markers of nodal extension: a crucial step toward cervical cancer optimization and personalization"


Professor Vicenzo CASTRONOVO

(Department of Biomedical and Preclinical Sciences / General and Cell Biology + GIGA-R: Metastasis Research Lab)

Translational & Clinical Research

"Development of TGFBI as a Novel Armed Antibody for Therapy of Liver Metastases"


Share this page